A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
"point-of-care" Databases
The Library has 211 databases and
11 under point-of-care"
- 1. AccessMedicine
- Provider: McGraw-Hill
- Contents: e-books , full text , images , reference , textbooks , videos
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: An integrated clinical database, featuring daily updates, that quickly pulls information from a pool of over 50 trusted medical texts, a drug index, a diagnostic tool and an image and video library. Also contains patient handouts. This resource is available to Educational and Clinical Partner users.
- Keywords: clinical | database | diagnosis | drugs | e-books | evidence-based medicine | medicine | point-of-care | video
- 2. ACP's PIER--Physician's Information and Education Resource (STAT!Ref -- TexShare)
- Provider: Teton Data Systems
- Contents: e-books , full text , handbook , patient education , websites
- Access Levels: Clinical Partners via their portal page , Educational
- Descriptions: Web-based, evidence-based guidance tool to improve clinical care. Disease topics are selected by the American College of Physicians (ACP), based on prevalence in clinical settings. Evidence for all diseases is evaluated; credibility of the evidence is displayed with a rating. Subcategories for each disease are: Prevention, Non-drug Therapy, Screening, Drug Therapy, Diagnosis, Patient Education, Consultation for Diagnosis, Consultation for Management, Hospitalization, Follow-up. PIER includes AHFS DI® Essentials, with drug information monographs drawn from evidence-based guidelines in the full AHFS DI® database; distills information on prescription and key over-the-counter (OTC) drugs in a structured outline format.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | drugs | evidence-based medicine | internal medicine | physicians | point-of-care
- 3. BestBETS: Best Evidence Topics
- Provider: Manchester Royal Infirmary, Manchester, UK
- Contents: free , full text
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: The BestBETS system was begun in 1996 to address the need for an evidence-based practice tool in the field of Emergency Medicine. Creating a BET (Best Evidence Topic) means following a well-defined set of rules that guide one to formulate effective questions, define the clinical scenario, develop a search strategy and record the search outcome. Literature appraisal results in the assignment of levels of evidence. These guidelines have been published in such journals as Emergency Medicine Journal, Archives of Disease in Childhood, and Interactive Cardiovascular and Thoracic Surgery.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | emergency medicine | evidence-based medicine | open access | point-of-care
- 4. Clin-eguide: Clinical Decision Support
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: e-books , full text , handbook , patient education , practice guidelines , quick reference , textbooks
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Clin-eguide is a clinical decision support system that combines clinical disease management, drug therapy and laboratory testing information in a single resource. It provides both patient- and disease-specific recommendations, taking into account patient status and concomitant conditions, and prompts the clinician to consider issues that may influence individual patient outcome. Clin-eguide is extensively and systematically researched and updated. It draws information from Evidence-Based Guidelines, Nursing Advisor, Facts & Comparisons drug information, national guidelines, the Cancer Chemotherapy Manual and many other sources, and includes patient handouts. The mobile version is compatible with Palm OS, Windows Mobile, Blackberry and iPhone. To get started with the mobile version, click "MyPDA" in the line of links at top right of the first screen, and register. Your "serial number" entry key will be emailed to you within a few minutes. If you don't receive it within a reasonable time, re-register.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical practice guidelines | decision support | drugs | evidence-based medicine | nursing | pharmaceutical | physicians | point-of-care
- 5. Clinical Queries (PubMed)
- Provider: National Institutes of Health/National Library of Medicine
- Contents: abstracts , citations , free , indexing , links to full text
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: A specialized PubMed search interface that affords an easier, more focused access to clinical studies, systematic reviews and medical genetics information.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical studies | clinical trials | decision support | evidence-based medicine | genetics | open access | point-of-care | systematic reviews
- 6. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - EBM Reviews
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. Reviews are presented in two types: complete reviews- regularly updated Cochrane Reviews, prepared and maintained by Collaborative Review Groups; and protocols- the background, objectives and methods of reviews in preparation. This database is updated and amended regularly, as new evidence becomes available and errors are identified. For a brief guide to searching any Ovid database, access the full list of available databases by clicking "Change Databases," and click the "i" (information) logo next to its title.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical studies | clinical trials | evidence-based medicine | point-of-care | systematic reviews
- 7. Cochrane Library
- Provider: Wiley InterScience
- Contents: full text
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Aggregated database of information from the following: The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects; The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials; Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews; Cochrane Methodology Register; Health Technology Assessment Database; and NHS Economic Evaluation Database. For information on searching this resource, click here.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical studies | clinical trials | point-of-care | systematic reviews
- 8. MD Consult
- Provider: Elsevier
- Contents: abstracts , CME , e-books , full text , indexing , patient education , practice guidelines , reference , textbooks
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: MD Consult is a database of clinical point-of-care resources. This subscription includes full-text access to over 50 medical reference books covering a wealth of specialties; browsable access to a large journal collection and to 35 Clinics of North America titles; drug information from Gold Standard; more than 1,000 practice guidelines; and thousands of customizable patient education handouts. It offers the option to create personal accounts and participate in CME activities, and includes a news section. Available to Educational level users.
- Keywords: drugs | medicine | pharmaceutical | point-of-care
- 9. NCME TV
- Provider: Network for Continuing Medical Education
- Contents: CME , videos
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: NCME TV™ provides a variety of contemporary topics of interest to primary care physicians, hospitalists, and other specialists. NCME covers important CME topics, some of which are rarely covered by other CME providers. Each month, a new program is posted from one of the following categories: Masters Programs on Critical Topics in Medicine (grand-rounds style reviews of important topics in emergency medicine); State-Mandated CME Topics (needed for licensure in many states); Hospital Quality/Performance Issues;and Late-Breaking and Hot Topics. NCME is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education for physicians. All NCME programs are certified for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™ on an hour-for-hour basis. (Some individual programs are supported by educational grants from industry.) See http://resource.library.tmc.edu/resources/ncme.cfm for clarification on how to register at the NCME TV website.
- Keywords: education | medicine | physicians | point-of-care | video
- 10. Nursing Reference Center
- Provider: EBSCO
- Contents: CME , e-books , full text , links to full text , news , patient education , reference
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: A comprehensive, point-of-care resource for nursing, Nursing Reference Center draws search results in part from Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses; AHFS Drug Information Essentials; Diseases and Disorders: A Nursing Therapeutics Manual; Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary; and Davis's Comprehensive Handbook of Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications. Nursing Reference Center includes: "quick lessons" on diseases and disorders; evidence-based care sheets; practice guidelines; patient education sheets, some available in Spanish; CE modules; news; research instruments; and information on legal cases. Nursing Reference Center provides direct access to full text articles found in CINAHL. First-time users are encouraged to "take the tour" on the database's home page (FlashPlayer required) to learn more.
- Keywords: clinical practice guidelines | drugs | evidence-based | journal | legal | monographs | nursing | point-of-care
- 11. UpToDate
- Provider: UpToDate.com
- Contents: abstracts , CME , full text , indexing , quick reference
- Access Level: Provided only for a specific user group- see database description for details.
- Descriptions: This evidence-based resource is designed for use at the point of care, with topic reviews provided by nearly 3,000 physicians. Information presented is peer-reviewed. Provides access to current information within defined specialties; helps clinicians recognize the clinical manifestations of a wide variety of disorders and describes current options for diagnosis, management and therapy, including drug efficacy, dosage and interactions; and also assists with the identification of optimal screening and prevention strategies. NOTES: FOR BAYLOR USERS: Please go to your ERC's (Education Resource Center's) database list to use UpToDate. FOR ALL USERS: There is no Remote Access Service available for this resource. Access is available at UTHSC TMC campus locations and at HAM-TMC Library.
- Keywords: diagnosis | drugs | evidence-based medicine | pharmaceutical | physicians | point-of-care




