A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
QUICK REFERENCE Databases
Currently, the Library has 11 databases for the content term: "quick reference".
- 1. American Hospital Directory
- Provider: American Hospital Association
- Contents: directory , free , partial open access , quick reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Not all content here is free, but visitors can search for hospitals and view free profile information like location, number of beds, types of services offered, Medicare patient charge and utilization numbers, and general state and national hospital statistics.
- Keywords: consumer health | healthcare system
- 2. Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (Orange Book)
- Provider: U.S. Food and Drug Administration
- Contents: cross reference , free , full text , government documents , index , open access , quick reference , reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: The Orange Book provides updated information on prescription, over-the-counter and discontinued FDA-approved drug products. It can be searched and consulted online, or the annual edition and monthly cumulative supplements can be downloaded in .pdf format. The Electronic Orange Book provides daily updates of new generic drug approvals. Search by active ingredient, proprietary name, patent, application number or application holder. If a newly-approved drug product is not turned up in the search, use the search box at top right of the page to find results from the Orange Book's monthly supplements and other FDA sources.
- Keywords: drugs | federal agencies | open access | patents | pharmaceutical | products | public health | U.S. Government
- 3. Clin-eguide: Clinical Decision Support
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: e-books , full text , handbook , patient education , practice guidelines , quick reference , textbooks
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Clin-eguide is a clinical decision support system that combines clinical disease management, drug therapy and laboratory testing information in a single resource. It provides both patient- and disease-specific recommendations, taking into account patient status and concomitant conditions, and prompts the clinician to consider issues that may influence individual patient outcome. Clin-eguide is extensively and systematically researched and updated. It draws information from Evidence-Based Guidelines, Nursing Advisor, Facts & Comparisons drug information, national guidelines, the Cancer Chemotherapy Manual and many other sources, and includes patient handouts. The mobile version is compatible with Palm OS, Windows Mobile, Blackberry and iPhone. To get started with the mobile version, click "MyPDA" in the line of links at top right of the first screen, and register. Your "serial number" entry key will be emailed to you within a few minutes. If you don't receive it within a reasonable time, re-register.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical practice guidelines | decision support | drugs | evidence-based medicine | nursing | pharmaceutical | physicians | point-of-care
- 4. Dietary Supplements Labels Database
- Provider: National Library of Medicine
- Contents: brief records , free , full text , quick reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: Dietary Supplements Labels Database enables one to look up research results on dietary supplements based on brand name, active ingredients, manufacturer and even intended use. The information available may include adverse effects, mechanism of action and FDA warnings and recalls.
- Keywords: alternative medicine | dietary supplements | drugs | herbs | open access | products
- 5. Drug Information Pathfinder
- Provider: U.S. Food and Drug Administration
- Contents: free , full text , government documents , links , monographs , quick reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: From this starting point, find a link to the U.S. Pharmacopeia updates and revisions, as well as information about new pending and non-U.S. standards. The full text of the "Orange Book" of approved drug products is accessible from here, under the Generic Drugs heading. Additional sections provide guidance on the drug approval application process, best practices in manufacturing and clinical trials, consumer advice, information on over-the-counter drugs, and more.
- Keywords: clinical trials | drugs | federal agencies | law | marketing | open access | pharmaceutical | pharmacy | standards
- 6. Drug Resource Center
- Provider: AETNA Intelihealth
- Contents: free , patient education , quick reference
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: This section of the Aetna InteliHealth site provides articles on condition-specific drug issues. An editorial faculty from Harvard Medical School assures the accuracy and relevance of information presented by this website.
- Keywords: consumer health | drugs | open access | pharmaceutical
- 7. Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: encyclopedia , full text , images , quick reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics, contains various images, and offers brief biographies as well as information on a variety of subject areas; updated annually.
- Keywords: homework | kids | monographs | multidisciplinary
- 8. Literature Resource Center
- Provider: Gale
- Contents: full text , literary criticism , quick reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Literature reference database designed for both undergraduate and graduate students; provides biographical, bibliographical, critical content, and information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more. Includes information from the Thomson Gale databases Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography Online.
- Keywords: biography | books | gateway | humanities | literature | poetry | portal | student
- 9. MasterFILE Premier (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , dictionary , e-books , indexing , maps , quick reference , reference , research tools
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides full text for more than 1,700 general periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business, education, health, general science, and multicultural issues. In addition to the full text, this database provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,400 titles. This database includes full text Magill Book Reviews, full text reference books including the World Almanac & Book of Facts; full text from biographies, full text primary source documents, American Heritage Dictionary, 4th Edition and an image collection of photos, maps and flags. Includes PDF backfiles as far back as 1975 for key publications.
- Keywords: general reference | multicultural | multidisciplinary | reviews | student
- 10. Merck Manuals Online Medical Library- Home Edition
- Provider: Merck & Co., Inc.
- Contents: free , full text , glossary of terms , illustrations , manual , quick reference , reference , tables of contents
- Access Level: Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: This manual is an invaluable resource for the layman, explaining medical conditions from every aspect, with introductions giving background information on the biology of body systems and organs, and providing supporting anatomical and 3-D visual aids. Of particular value is the Drugs section, with information on pharmacokinetics, drug interaction and adverse reactions, herbal supplements and over-the-counter drugs. The Special Subjects area contains sections on medical decision-making, limb prosthetics, travel medicine, women's health, alternative and complementary medicines, and more.
- Keywords: consumer health | drugs | medicine
- 11. UpToDate
- Provider: UpToDate.com
- Contents: abstracts , CME , full text , indexing , quick reference
- Access Level: Provided only for a specific user group- see database description for details.
- Descriptions: This evidence-based resource is designed for use at the point of care, with topic reviews provided by nearly 3,000 physicians. Information presented is peer-reviewed. Provides access to current information within defined specialties; helps clinicians recognize the clinical manifestations of a wide variety of disorders and describes current options for diagnosis, management and therapy, including drug efficacy, dosage and interactions; and also assists with the identification of optimal screening and prevention strategies. NOTES: FOR BAYLOR USERS: Please go to your ERC's (Education Resource Center's) database list to use UpToDate. FOR ALL USERS: There is no Remote Access Service available for this resource. Access is available at UTHSC TMC campus locations and at HAM-TMC Library.
- Keywords: diagnosis | drugs | evidence-based medicine | pharmaceutical | physicians | point-of-care







