A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
HAM-TMC Library
Databases
Our databases contain a wide variety of medical information resources: journal articles, statistics, images, government information, and more. Browse the alphabetical list of database titles or search for terms that appear in the database descriptions.Search:
"Educational" Access Level Databases
Currently, the Library has 131 databases for the Educational Access Level.
- 1. Academic Search Complete (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , citations , full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains full text for nearly 4,650 serials and offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,200 journals; this scholarly collection offers information in: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
- Keywords: multidisciplinary | periodicals
- 2. AccessMedicine
- Provider: McGraw-Hill
- Contents: e-books , full text , images , reference , textbooks , videos
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: An integrated clinical database, featuring daily updates, that quickly pulls information from a pool of over 50 trusted medical texts, a drug index, a diagnostic tool and an image and video library. Also contains patient handouts. This resource is available to Educational and Clinical Partner users.
- Keywords: clinical | database | diagnosis | drugs | e-books | evidence-based medicine | medicine | point-of-care | video
- 3. AccessSurgery
- Provider: McGraw-Hill
- Contents: CME , full text , images , videos
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: An integrated database of surgical resources, both written and visual, that provides medical students, surgical residents, and practicing surgeons with quick answers to surgical inquiries, from trusted sources. Organized around the ACGME's (Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education) mandate for a core curriculum, AccessSurgery delivers content in context. This is a tool for the student, the educator, and the practitioner, and is available to Educational and Clinical Partner users.
- Keywords: clinical | surgery
- 4. ACP Medicine (STAT!Ref -- TexShare)
- Provider: WebMD and The American College of Physicians via STAT!Ref
- Contents: CME , e-books , full text
- Access Levels: Clinical Partners via their portal page , Educational
- Descriptions: A peer-reviewed, evidence-based guide to clinical decision-making, ACP Medicine covers the 11 sub-specialties of internal medicine, along with other key topics. Individually-authored chapters on Clinical Essentials, Cardiovascular Medicine, Dermatology, Endocrinology, Gastroenterology, Hematology, Immunology/Allergy, Infectious Disease, Interdisciplinary Medicine, Metabolism, Nephrology, Neurology, Oncology, Psychiatry, Respiratory Medicine, Rheumatology, and Women's Health. Includes CME.
- Keywords: decision support | evidence-based medicine | internal medicine
- 5. ACP's PIER--Physician's Information and Education Resource (STAT!Ref -- TexShare)
- Provider: Teton Data Systems
- Contents: e-books , full text , handbook , patient education , websites
- Access Levels: Clinical Partners via their portal page , Educational
- Descriptions: Web-based, evidence-based guidance tool to improve clinical care. Disease topics are selected by the American College of Physicians (ACP), based on prevalence in clinical settings. Evidence for all diseases is evaluated; credibility of the evidence is displayed with a rating. Subcategories for each disease are: Prevention, Non-drug Therapy, Screening, Drug Therapy, Diagnosis, Patient Education, Consultation for Diagnosis, Consultation for Management, Hospitalization, Follow-up. PIER includes AHFS DI® Essentials, with drug information monographs drawn from evidence-based guidelines in the full AHFS DI® database; distills information on prescription and key over-the-counter (OTC) drugs in a structured outline format.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | drugs | evidence-based medicine | internal medicine | physicians | point-of-care
- 6. Agricola (EBSCO -- TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Compiled by the US National Agricultural Library, this bibliographic information resource consists of over 2 million citations to journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including: plant and animal sciences; forestry; entomology; soil and water resources; agricultural economics; agricultural engineering; agricultural products; alternative farming practices; and food and nutrition.
- Keywords: agriculture | animal | nutrition
- 7. AHFS Drug Information (Stat!Ref-- TexShare)
- Provider: American Hospital Formulary Service on STAT!Ref Platform
- Contents: monographs
- Access Levels: Clinical Partners via their portal page , Educational
- Descriptions: Collection of drug monographs on single-drug entities available in the United States; information on various trademarked preparations and brands of a drug is contained in a single monograph. Monographs on principal ingredients also include descriptive information about drug combinations. There are general statements on groups of drugs whose activities and uses permit their discussion as a class. Information on older and prototype drugs is also provided.
- Keywords: drugs | pharmaceutical
- 8. Alt Health Watch (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: citations , partial full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Focuses on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness; offers full text articles for nearly 180 international reports and journals, many of which are peer-reviewed. In addition, there are hundreds of other publication types: pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research, and book excerpts.
- Keywords: alternative medicine | herbs | holistic | wellness
- 9. America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts
- Provider: EBSCO
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: America: History and Life (AHL) is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises over 530,000 bibliographic entries for periodicals dating back to 1954. Additional bibliographical entries are constantly added to the databases from editorial projects such as retrospective coverage of journals issues published prior to 1954. This extensive database covers over 1,700 journals published worldwide. In addition to covering all key English-language historical journals, America: History and Life coverage includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities. Over 90% of the articles included are published in English-language journals.
- Keywords: history | humanities | social sciences
- 10. American Film Scripts Online
- Provider: Alexander Street Press
- Contents: archive , full text , text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains full text movie scripts written between 1920- present.
- Keywords: culture | films | humanities | social sciences | society
- 11. American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: full text , illustrations , images , newspapers
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741 and 1900, deriving from the American Periodicals Series microform collection, with over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years-from colonial times to the advent of American involvement in World War II. Titles range from America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository, to popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal.
- Keywords: history | history of North America | homework | magazines | periodicals
- 12. ARTStor
- Provider: ARTStor
- Contents: images
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: ARTStor contains roughly half a million images of architecture, paintings, sculpture, photography, decorative arts and design, as well as images from other forms of 'visual culture.' This database documents the art of many cultures and eras.
- Keywords: art | culture | humanities
- 13. Bibliography of Native North Americans (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , citations , partial full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Covers all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life; also provides information on a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BNNA contains more than 100,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
- Keywords: American history | homework | Native American | sociology
- 14. Biology Image Library
- Provider: BioMed Central
- Contents: animation , illustrations , images , partial open access , videos
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Brought to you by BioMed Central, the open access publisher, Biology Image Library provides scientific images for downloading and use for non-commercial purposes. For images not in the public domain, Biology Image Library can direct the user to the copyright holder or in some cases handle the sale of rights for commercial use. Submission of contributions is also welcomed. See "About..." for information. The Biology Image Library allows free access to all to view image thumbnails and annotations, but only authorized HAM-TMC users can view full-size versions, save, make PowerPoint slides, or e-mail the images that are under copyright.
- Keywords: biology | biomedical | e-publishing | education | microbiology
- 15. BioMed Central
- Provider: BioMed Central
- Contents: abstracts , free , interactive , news , partial open access , research tools , videos , websites
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational , Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: All the research articles published in BioMed Central's more than 160 journals are open access, but other articles in a minority of BMC's journals are available only by subscription. BioMed Central also provides various additional products and services for subscribers only. Because BioMed Central views open access to research as essential to ensure the rapid and efficient communication of research findings, original research articles are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication.
- Keywords: biomedical research | journal | medicine | open access | research | science
- 16. BIOSIS - Biological Abstracts, 1980 - 2003
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: BIOSIS encompasses the breadth of life sciences and provides coverage of published biological and biomedical research; includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as experimental, clinical and veterinary medicine, biotechnology, environmental studies, and agriculture. Interdisciplinary fields like biochemistry, biophysics and bioengineering are also included. The Library's coverage ends with 2003. For a brief guide to searching any Ovid database, access the full list of available databases by clicking "Change Databases," and click the "i" (information) logo next to its title.
- Keywords: biology | biomedical | life sciences | microbiology | veterinary medicine | zoology
- 17. Books@Ovid
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: e-books , full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: This browsable, searchable database of electronic books includes a collection of nursing volumes from Lippincott, Williams and Wilkins and the Oxford Textbook of Medicine. All displayed titles are accessible in full text.
- Keywords: nursing
- 18. Business Source Complete (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: bibliographic records , full text , proceedings
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Scholarly business database, providing both bibliographic and full text content; includes indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database. Provides full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
- Keywords: business | marketing
- 19. CINAHL Plus with Full Text
- Provider: EBSCO
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Levels: Clinical Partners via their portal page , Educational
- Descriptions: CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the comprehensive index to nursing and allied health articles, and contains cover-to-cover, current full text for more than 400 of the top journals indexed. Also provides more than 600,000 historical full-text articles dating back to 1937. A tutorial for the CINAHL interface is available here.
- Keywords: allied health | nursing
- 20. CLASE and PERIODICA (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: CLASE covers documents published in Latin American and Caribbean social sciences and humanities journals. PERIODICA covers science and technology specialty journals. Coverage is from 1978 to the present; updated quarterly.
- Keywords: humanities | social sciences | Spanish
- 21. Clin-eguide: Clinical Decision Support
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: e-books , full text , handbook , patient education , practice guidelines , quick reference , textbooks
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Clin-eguide is a clinical decision support system that combines clinical disease management, drug therapy and laboratory testing information in a single resource. It provides both patient- and disease-specific recommendations, taking into account patient status and concomitant conditions, and prompts the clinician to consider issues that may influence individual patient outcome. Clin-eguide is extensively and systematically researched and updated. It draws information from Evidence-Based Guidelines, Nursing Advisor, Facts & Comparisons drug information, national guidelines, the Cancer Chemotherapy Manual and many other sources, and includes patient handouts. The mobile version is compatible with Palm OS, Windows Mobile, Blackberry and iPhone. To get started with the mobile version, click "MyPDA" in the line of links at top right of the first screen, and register. Your "serial number" entry key will be emailed to you within a few minutes. If you don't receive it within a reasonable time, re-register.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical practice guidelines | decision support | drugs | evidence-based medicine | nursing | pharmaceutical | physicians | point-of-care
- 22. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - EBM Reviews
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. Reviews are presented in two types: complete reviews- regularly updated Cochrane Reviews, prepared and maintained by Collaborative Review Groups; and protocols- the background, objectives and methods of reviews in preparation. This database is updated and amended regularly, as new evidence becomes available and errors are identified. For a brief guide to searching any Ovid database, access the full list of available databases by clicking "Change Databases," and click the "i" (information) logo next to its title.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical studies | clinical trials | evidence-based medicine | point-of-care | systematic reviews
- 23. Cochrane Library
- Provider: Wiley InterScience
- Contents: full text
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Aggregated database of information from the following: The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects; The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials; Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews; Cochrane Methodology Register; Health Technology Assessment Database; and NHS Economic Evaluation Database. For information on searching this resource, click here.
- Keywords: clinical evidence | clinical studies | clinical trials | point-of-care | systematic reviews
- 24. Cold Spring Harbor Protocols
- Provider: Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press
- Contents: full text , protocols
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Cold Spring Harbor Protocols is an interactive source of new and classic research techniques. The database is searchable by keyword and subject, and includes discussion forums and personal folders. Its coverage includes cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging. Protocols will be continuously expanded, updated, and annotated by the originators and users of the techniques.
- Keywords: bioinformatics | biology | genetics | medical imaging | proteins
- 25. Computer Source (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: bibliographic records , full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides latest information and current trends in high technology; offers full text for nearly 300 publications, covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. In addition, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications.
- Keywords: computers | electronics | information science | technology
- 26. Consumer Health Complete (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , encyclopedia , full text , indexing , monographs , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides encyclopedias and reference books, health reports and pamphlets, health news, drug and herb information, alternative health sources, and medical images and diagrams. Includes full-text articles from a variety of journals. A Spanish language version (Salud en Espanol) is available.
- Keywords: consumer health
- 27. Contemporary Authors (TexShare)
- Provider: Gale
- Contents: bibliographies , biographical , literary criticism
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: A bio-bibliographical guide that covers more than 124,000 current writers in a wide range of media, including: current writers of fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, and drama; prominent print and broadcast journalists, editors, photojournalists, syndicated cartoonists, screenwriters, television scriptwriters, and other media people; authors who write in languages other than English, provided their works have been published in the United States or translated into English; and literary greats of the early twentieth century whose works are popular in today's high school and college curriculums and continue to elicit critical attention.
- Keywords: books | culture | homework | literature
- 28. Contemporary Literary Criticism (TexShare)
- Provider: Gale
- Contents: literary criticism
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides significant published criticism on the works of novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, and other creative writers. A strong emphasis is placed on including criticism of works by established authors who frequently appear on syllabuses of high school and college literature courses. Each entry contains the following: a biographical essay that discusses the author's life, works, and critical importance; critical essays or excerpts taken from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers, and scholarly journals; and, where available, interviews with featured authors. A complete bibliographical citation prefaces each critical essay and most essays are introduced by a brief annotation that establishes a context and purpose for the criticism. Entries also provide suggestions for further reading.
- Keywords: books | culture | homework | humanities | literature
- 29. Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) (EBM Reviews)
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , indexing , links
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Provides critical assessments of systematic reviews from a variety of medical journals. DARE is produced by reviewers and information staff of the National Health Service's Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (NHS CRD) at the University of York, England, and consists of structured abstracts of systematic reviews from all over the world. DARE records cover topics such as diagnosis, prevention, rehabilitation, screening, and treatment.
- Keywords: diagnosis | reviews | Spanish | systematic reviews
- 30. Diagnosaurus
- Provider: McGraw-Hill
- Contents: brief records , links to full text
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Diagnosaurus is a tool that links the user to information in texts within AccessMedicine's collection in order to assist with the formation of differential diagnoses on over a thousand diseases and disorders.
- Keywords: decision support | diagnosis | physicians
- 31. Dictionary of Literary Biography (TexShare)
- Provider: Gale
- Contents: bibliographies , biographical , literary criticism
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Essays outline the lives and careers of authors from all eras and genres and summarize the critical response to their work. Each DLB entry contains personal information- birth/death dates, nationality/ethnicity, principal genres, awards, family history, and in some cases an author portrait-a list of the author's principal works, further readings about the author, a list of additional writings, published interviews, biographies, and a bibliography of writings about the author.
- Keywords: biography | homework | humanities | literature | publishing
- 32. Early Encounters in North America
- Provider: Alexander Street Press
- Contents: full text , illustrations , images , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: This highly searchable database contains over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of "early encounters" with the humans, flora and fauna of North America, from explorers, missionaries and others new to the "New World." Many images are also included.
- Keywords: American history | biology | botany | culture | history | homework | multicultural | multidisciplinary | Native American
- 33. Early English Books Online
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: full text , images
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: "Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War..." Historians of science and medicine may find useful material here.
- Keywords: books | digital | history | history of medicine | literature | multidisciplinary | research | science
- 34. EBSCOHost Espanol (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , index , links , partial full text , research tools , Spanish language interface
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Spanish language version of the interface to multiple databases provided by EBSCO.
- Keywords: database | gateway | homework | multidisciplinary | periodicals | portal | Spanish
- 35. Economia y Negocios (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: bibliographic records , Spanish language interface
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: A collaborative effort between EBSCO Publishing and ESAN (Escuela de Administración de Negocios para Graduados), this bibliographic database provides information on research conducted in the areas of business and economics. Search functionality is enhanced through the incorporation of author keywords supplied in Spanish and English. More than 60,000 records, dating back to the early 1980s, provide coverage for over 200 Spanish and Portuguese-language periodicals published in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Spain, the United States and elsewhere. Active titles include Revista de la CEPAL, Revista de Administraçao, Estudios Empresariales, and Agroeconómico.
- Keywords: business | economics | Latin America | management | research | Spanish
- 36. Eighteenth Century Collections Online (TexShare)
- Provider: Gale
- Contents: full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Digital images of over 13 million pages from over 1,500 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800, with images and maps included. A wide variety of subject matter is represented, from Fine Arts to Medicine. Titles from the British Library and many other university, private and public libraries worldwide.
- Keywords: culture | history | homework | kids | society
- 37. eLibrary Curriculum Edition (TexShare)
- Provider: ProQuest -- TexShare
- Contents: full text , illustrations , newspapers , websites
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Large collection of periodical and digital media content designed specifically for K-12 students. Powered by the MediaSeek® knowledge base of educational standards to supplement instruction and research. Contains more than 2,000 full-text magazines, newspapers, reference books, and transcripts-plus pictures, maps, educator-approved websites from Homework Central®, and audio/video content
- Keywords: general reference | homework | K-12 | kids | magazines | multidisciplinary
- 38. Encyclopedia of Animals (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: brief records , encyclopedia , illustrations , images
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Offers information on a variety of topics relating to animals; consists of indexing, abstracts, and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals. Within some of the full text, image links are available for the Windows client. Images are accessed by double-clicking any image graphic.
- Keywords: animal | biology | homework | K-12 | kids | zoology
- 39. Enhanced Business Search Interface (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: The Business Searching Interface (BSI) provides an easy way to both browse and search for country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research, and then use the results as limiters in a keyword search, if desired.
- Keywords: business | company profiles | economics | industry | marketing
- 40. ERIC (EBSCO -- TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , bibliographies , directory , dissertation , government documents , indexing , monographs , proceedings , thesis
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the US Department of Education to provide access to educational-related literature; provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. Dates of coverage: 1966 - current. Subject coverage includes counseling and personnel services, education management, information resources, languages and linguistics, science, mathematics, and environmental education, teacher education, and tests, measurement, and evaluation.
- Keywords: education | science | tests | workforce
- 41. Exam Master (USMLE)
- Provider: Exam Master Corp.
- Contents: test questions
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Exam Master's question bank contains exam practice material for: USMLE Steps 1, 2 and 3; Medical Board Exams, including family practice, internal medicine, and surgery; several medical specialties, including anatomy, microbiology and physiology; and Part I of the National Board Dental Exam. Users register via Remote Access at Exam Master, and set up personal logins in order to create and save their exam questions in the Exam Master database. To register or access your account, log in to your Remote Access account first. Follow the link that says, "Not registered yet?" if you are a new user. The publisher recommends new users take the tutorial they are presented with on first login, before proceeding to select their exam materials.
- Keywords: medicine | tests | USMLE
- 42. Faculty of 1000 Biology
- Provider: BioMed Central
- Contents: citations , links
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Online research service that highlights and reviews the most interesting papers published in the biological sciences, based on the recommendations of a faculty of well over 1000 researchers. Provides a rapidly updated consensus map of the important papers and trends across biology, including biochemistry, bioinformatics, biotechnology, cell biology, chemical biology, developmental biology, ecology, evolutionary biology, genomics and genetics, immunology, microbiology, molecular biology, molecular medicine, neuroscience, pharmacology and drug discovery, physiology, plant biology, and structural biology. Faculty of 1000 Biology highlights papers on the basis of their scientific merit rather than the journal in which they appear and offers the researcher a consensus of recommendations from well over 1000 leading scientists.
- Keywords: biomedical research | cell biology | genomics | neuroscience | research | reviews | scientist | social networking
- 43. Faculty of 1000 Medicine
- Provider: BioMed Central
- Contents: abstracts , citations , summaries
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Aimed at clinicians (highlighting evidence that questions current clinical practice) and researchers (highlighting important areas of research and drawing attention to new developments); provides a rapidly updated consensus map of the important papers and trends across medicine, including anesthesiology, cardiovascular disorders, diabetes and endocrinology, and evidence-based health care.
- Keywords: citation analysis | medicine | MedLine | periodicals | reviews
- 44. Fuente Academica (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , citations , full text , Spanish language interface
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Collection of scholarly journals from Latin American and Spanish publishers, with full text content from the fields of business and economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library and information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology. Database provides full text (including PDF) for about 260 scholarly Spanish language journals.
- Keywords: homework | Latin America | multicultural | multidisciplinary | periodicals | Spanish
- 45. Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: encyclopedia , full text , images , quick reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics, contains various images, and offers brief biographies as well as information on a variety of subject areas; updated annually.
- Keywords: homework | kids | monographs | multidisciplinary
- 46. Gale Virtual Reference Library (TexShare)
- Provider: Gale
- Contents: biographical , dictionary , e-books , encyclopedia , full text , indexing , reference , tables of contents , thesaurus
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: This is a large collection (approx. 150 titles) of Electronic Reference Books that can be searched simultaneously as a database, or singly. GVRL offers access to a wide spectrum of disciplines in multi-volume encyclopedias and other reference books, each focusing on an overview or an aspect of arts and humanities, medicine, social and "hard" sciences. These works are published by Gale and other established, well-known publishers, for instance Wiley, Cambridge and MacMillan.
- Keywords: general reference | multidisciplinary
- 47. GreenFile (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , images , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: GreenFILE covers human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green buildings, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more. Indexing and abstracts of more than 384,000 records, and full text of approximately 4,700 open access records.
- Keywords: biology | current events | environmental | general health | government | life sciences | multidisciplinary | policy | public health | society | student | toxins
- 48. Handbook of Texas Online (TexShare)
- Provider: Texas State Historical Association and the General Libraries at UT Austin -- TexShare
- Contents: encyclopedia , full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture sponsored by the Texas State Historical Association and the General Libraries at UT Austin. It comprises more than 23,000 articles on people, places, events, historical themes, institutions, and a host of other topic categories. The scope is broad and inclusive, designed to provide readers with concise, authoritative and accessible articles that provide factual, nonpartisan accounts on virtually every aspect of Texas history and culture.
- Keywords: culture | history | homework | Texas
- 49. HarpWeek
- Provider: HarpWeek
- Contents: full text , newspapers
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Full text of Harper's Weekly, the leading 19th Century American illustrated newspaper, from 1857-1912.
- Keywords: American history | culture | history | society
- 50. Health & Wellness Resource Center (TexShare)
- Provider: Gale
- Contents: citations , encyclopedia , full text , indexing , links , reference , websites
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides integrated access to medical, statistical, health and wellness information for consumers, students, and professionals; provides the Alternative Health Module. Includes the Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine. Delivers reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of medical sources. Also includes descriptions and links for some useful and appropriate Websites.
- Keywords: alternative medicine | consumer health | journal | medicine
- 51. Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: research tools , test questions
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Provides access to information on measurement instruments (questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. Helps to identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation. For a brief guide to searching any Ovid database, access the full list of available databases by clicking "Change Databases," and click the "i" (information) logo next to its title.
- Keywords: education | libraries | psychology | social sciences | student
- 52. Health Reference Center Academic (TexShare)
- Provider: Gale
- Contents: audio , full text , newspapers , videos
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources, including newspapers and multimedia.
- Keywords: allied health | healthcare | nursing | periodicals
- 53. Health Source: Consumer Edition (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , e-books , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides information on many health topics: medical sciences, food science and nutrition, child care, sports medicine and general health. Features searchable full text for nearly 190 journals, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 200 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications. Also included are USP Pharmacopoeia DI: Volume II Advice for the Lay Patient and 20 health research books, including books published by the People's Medical Society.
- Keywords: consumer health | diet | drugs | general health | nutrition | sports medicine
- 54. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on various medical disciplines and features abstracts and indexing for 850 journals, with coverage of nursing and allied health being particularly strong, including full text from many nursing journals. In addition, this database includes Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
- Keywords: allied health | drugs | medicine | nursing
- 55. HeritageQuest Online
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains over 20,000 books currently available, the entire US Federal Census, PERSI, Freedman's Bank Records, Revolutionary War Pension Records, and other expanding collections.
- Keywords: American history | books | census | genealogy
- 56. Historical Abstracts and America: History and Life
- Provider: EBSCO
- Contents: abstracts , bibliographic records , citations , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Combined with its sister database America: History and Life, Historical Abstracts contains over 1 million abstracts and citations of book and media reviews, books, and dissertations, many with links to the fulltext. Historical Abstracts provides a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Together, America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts cover over 1,700 journals published throughout the world, in over forty languages. Each database deals with those articles that are pertinent to its period of coverage.
- Keywords: American history | books | dissertations | history | homework | multicultural | reviews | society
- 57. Historical New York Times
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: archive , full text , newspapers
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Searchable database of the New York Times newspaper, 1851 - 2004.
- Keywords: American history | foreign policy | history | policy | politics | popular
- 58. IEEE Xplore
- Provider: IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers)
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , proceedings
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides full text access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IEE (Institution of Electrical Engineers) publications from 1988, with select content back to 1952.
- Keywords: computers | conference | electronics | engineering | information science | measurement | medical devices | portal | science | standards
- 59. Illustrata (CSA)
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , charts and graphs , full text , illustrations , images , indexing , maps , research tools
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Provides access to nearly one million illustrations, charts, graphs, maps, and other figures from more than 665 journals; using this resource, researchers can specifically search information presented in tables, figures, charts, and other illustrations within articles and then view the full object, including all caption and label text.
- Keywords: figures | science | search
- 60. images.MD, the online encyclopedia of medical images
- Provider: Current Medicine
- Contents: charts and graphs , illustrations , images , research tools , text
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Compiles over 50,000 images in internal medicine, all derived from Current Medicine’s series of illustrated atlases. Each image is accompanied by detailed text written by over 2,000 contributing experts. Continually updated, with content added throughout the year. Detailed references accompany each image.
- Keywords: biomedical | internal medicine | medical imaging | medicine
- 61. Information Science & Technology Abstracts (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , monographs , proceedings
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Coverage includes classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, scholarly communication, electronic publishing, and more. ISTA indexes journal articles from more than 450 publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings and patents. Coverage extends back to the mid 1960s.
- Keywords: books | computers | e-publishing | industry | informatics | information science | libraries | patents
- 62. InfoTrac Newspapers (TexShare)
- Provider: Gale
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , newspapers
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Collection of over 400 newspapers from the US and around the world, including several Texas newspapers and a 365-day rolling file of the New York Times. Dates of coverage vary.
- Keywords: general reference | Texas
- 63. International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides international coverage of pharmaceutical science and health related literature from 1970 to the present, and is updated monthly. Comprehensive information is included for drug therapy, toxicity, and pharmacy practice as well as legislation, regulation, technology, utilization, biopharmaceutics, information processing, education, economics, and ethics as related to pharmaceutical science and practice.
- Keywords: drugs | ethics | law | office practice | pharmaceutical | pharmacy | toxicology
- 64. Internet and Personal Computing Abstracts (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides abstracts and indexing for literature related to personal computing products and developments in business, the Internet, the home, and all other applied areas. Coverage extends back to the 1980s. Over 400 trade publications, mainstream computer magazines and professional journals are covered, including those that focus on specific topics such as Macintosh and Windows platforms, programming and web development, with special emphasis on hardware and software reviews. Includes content from such titles as Byte.com, PC World, Macworld, and Linux Journal, as well as editor-selected articles from hundreds of popular magazine titles.
- Keywords: computers | industry | internet | journal | products | technology
- 65. Journal Citation Reports
- Provider: ISI Web of Knowledge
- Contents: abstracts , citations , impact factors , indexing , links to full text , statistics
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides statistical information to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 7,500 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers. Provides information on: most frequently cited journals in a field; highest impact journals in a field; and largest journals in a field. Citation and article counts are indicators of how frequently current researchers are using individual journals.
- Keywords: citation analysis | humanities | informatics | science | social sciences
- 66. Journals@ OVID Full Text
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , links to full text , tables of contents
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Collection of Ovid full text journals. Provides access to all tables of contents, bibliographic citations, abstracts and references; full text for journals subscribed to by the Library.
- Keywords: allied health | journal | nursing | portal | research
- 67. JSTOR, the Scholarly Journal Archive
- Provider: JSTOR
- Contents: archive , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: The JSTOR archive contains the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals in multiple disciplines, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600's. New titles and disciplines are added regularly. Via HAM-TMC Library the following collections are available: Arts and Sciences I-IV; Biological Sciences; Business I-II; Ecology & Botany; Health & General Sciences; and Language & Literature.
- Keywords: digital | journal | multidisciplinary
- 68. Kids Search (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: full text , illustrations , search engine
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Search interface designed specifically for elementary/middle school students' needs and search abilities. The Kids Search interface combines a search engine with a child-friendly, graphically rich design that is both powerful and fun to use. Important features and functionality of Kids Search include a completely new, visually appealing look and feel and the ability to search by topic, subtopic, or keywords.
- Keywords: homework | K-12 | kids | multidisciplinary
- 69. Legal Collection (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Collection of scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies, with information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world. Legal Collection offers full text for nearly 250 law journals and provides information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and much more. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1965.
- Keywords: criminal justice | law | legal | multidisciplinary | social sciences
- 70. Library of Texas (TexShare)
- Provider: Texas State Library and Archives Commission -- TexShare
- Contents: bibliographic records , search engine
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides searching capabilities across multiple Texas library catalog and other knowledge collections, including databases provided by TexShare.
- Keywords: libraries | Texas
- 71. Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , indexing , proceedings
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Indexes more than 600 periodicals as well as books, research reports and proceedings. Coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
- Keywords: informatics | information science | libraries
- 72. Literature Resource Center
- Provider: Gale
- Contents: full text , literary criticism , quick reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Literature reference database designed for both undergraduate and graduate students; provides biographical, bibliographical, critical content, and information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more. Includes information from the Thomson Gale databases Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography Online.
- Keywords: biography | books | gateway | humanities | literature | poetry | portal | student
- 73. MAS Ultra School Edition (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: encyclopedia , full text , images , maps , monographs , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains full text for more than 700 popular magazines, including The Nation, National Review, New Republic, New Scientist, Science News, and Scientific American. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is available for biographies and primary source documents. Also included are pamphlets, reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac & Book of Facts), an image collection, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
- Keywords: kids | magazines | multidisciplinary | research | student
- 74. MasterFILE Premier (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , dictionary , e-books , indexing , maps , quick reference , reference , research tools
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides full text for more than 1,700 general periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business, education, health, general science, and multicultural issues. In addition to the full text, this database provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,400 titles. This database includes full text Magill Book Reviews, full text reference books including the World Almanac & Book of Facts; full text from biographies, full text primary source documents, American Heritage Dictionary, 4th Edition and an image collection of photos, maps and flags. Includes PDF backfiles as far back as 1975 for key publications.
- Keywords: general reference | multicultural | multidisciplinary | reviews | student
- 75. MD Consult
- Provider: Elsevier
- Contents: abstracts , CME , e-books , full text , indexing , patient education , practice guidelines , reference , textbooks
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: MD Consult is a database of clinical point-of-care resources. This subscription includes full-text access to over 50 medical reference books covering a wealth of specialties; browsable access to a large journal collection and to 35 Clinics of North America titles; drug information from Gold Standard; more than 1,000 practice guidelines; and thousands of customizable patient education handouts. It offers the option to create personal accounts and participate in CME activities, and includes a news section. Available to Educational level users.
- Keywords: drugs | medicine | pharmaceutical | point-of-care
- 76. Medical Letter, The
- Provider: The Medical Letter, Inc.
- Contents: CME , full text , handbook , practice guidelines , reference , research tools
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: This database contains The Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics, a searchable current database featuring biweekly updates. Archived information dates back to 1988. Also included: the database Treatment Guidelines from The Medical Letter, which includes guidelines from 2002 through the present; Adverse Drug Reactions Program, a proprietary, evidence-based database of drug interactions, updated frequently and searchable for up to 12 drugs simultaneously; and the Handbook of Antimicrobial Therapy, 17th ed. (2005.) Also available are ACCME/ACPE/AAFP-accredited CME's. PDA access is also supported, for Palm OS users only. Please contact the Circulation Desk staff for details on getting started with PDA and CME.
- Keywords: drugs | PDA access | pharmaceutical | pharmacology
- 77. MedicLatina (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , Spanish language interface
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative medicine journals, providing full text in Spanish to peer-reviewed medical journals. A wide range of topics is covered, including neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, and hematology. Publications covered in this database include Revista Medica del IMSS, Revista Mexicana de Patologia Clinica, Boletin Medico del Hospital Infantil de Mexico, Archivos de Neurociencias, Revista Biomedica, Veterinaria Mexico, and Salud Publica de Mexico.
- Keywords: journal | Latin America | medicine | peer review | physicians | research | scientist | Spanish
- 78. Medline (CSA)
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , citations , index , indexing , links to full text , research tools
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and since 2002, most citations previously included in separate NLM specialty databases such as SPACELINE and HISTLINE
- Keywords: allied health | dentistry | health sciences | journal | life sciences | medicine | pharmacology | physicians | science | scientist | veterinary medicine
- 79. Medline (EBSCO)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , citations , index , indexing , links to full text , research tools
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: This bibliographic database provides information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences. It is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.
- Keywords: allied health | dentistry | health sciences | life sciences | medicine | pharmacology | physicians | science | scientist | veterinary medicine
- 80. Medline (OVID)
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , citations , index , indexing , research tools
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Bibliographic database providing information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences; the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.
- Keywords: allied health | dentistry | health sciences | life sciences | nursing | pharmacology | physicians | science | scientist | veterinary medicine
- 81. Mental Measurements Yearbook
- Provider: EBSCO
- Contents: citations , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Produced by the Buros Institute, contains full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas. A comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments, and designed for users from experienced professionals to novice test consumers, Mental Measurement Yearbook contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products.
- Keywords: business | education | mental health | psychology | reviews | sociology | tests | workforce
- 82. Middle Search Plus (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , biographical , dictionary , encyclopedia , full text , images , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains full text for nearly 140 popular magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies, historical essays and student pamphlets. Also contains primary source documents (Essential Documents in American History), reference books (Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia and American Heritage Dictionary), the Encyclopedia of Animals, and an image collection of photos, maps and flags.
- Keywords: biography | general reference | homework | kids | magazines
- 83. Military & Government Collection (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , monographs
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Offers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and includes cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 academic journals and other periodicals. The database also includes full text for 245 pamphlets and offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.
- Keywords: government | journal | medicine | military | technology | workforce
- 84. Natural & Alternative Treatments (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: full text , monographs , patient education , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Detailed information on: more than 180 different conditions and the conventional and natural treatments used to treat them; over 200 herbs and supplements; and drug-herb and drug-supplement interactions for more than 75 drug categories can be found in this database.
- Keywords: alternative medicine | botanical | consumer health | diet | dietary supplements | drugs | herbs
- 85. Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database
- Provider: Therapeutic Research Faculty
- Contents: abstracts , CME , full text , indexing , patient education
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Updated daily, Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database provides clinically relevant information in an easy-to-use format. Product search is available from any page; click a button to get a patient handout for any product, or click references to see abstracts of articles. Supports PDA access for Palm OS or Windows mobile PDA, except for Smartphones.
- Keywords: dietary supplements | evidence-based medicine | herbs | PDA access | pharmacology | products
- 86. Nature Neuroscience Gateway
- Provider: Nature Publishing Group and the Allen Institute for Brain Science
- Contents: career and jobs , free , full text , news , partial open access
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational , Open Access (freely accessible to all)
- Descriptions: A comprehensive source for current research, news and events in neuroscience and genomics research developed collaboratively by the Allen Institute for Brain Science and Nature Publishing Group; includes the Allen Brain Atlas, a freely available scientific resource developed by the Allen Institute, which provides maps of the expression of approximately 20,000 genes in the mouse brain. Together, the Neuroscience Gateway and the Allen Brain Atlas are new tools to help researchers navigate neuroscience and genomics research.
- Keywords: gateway | neurology | neuroscience | open access | portal | research | scientist
- 87. NCME TV
- Provider: Network for Continuing Medical Education
- Contents: CME , videos
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: NCME TV™ provides a variety of contemporary topics of interest to primary care physicians, hospitalists, and other specialists. NCME covers important CME topics, some of which are rarely covered by other CME providers. Each month, a new program is posted from one of the following categories: Masters Programs on Critical Topics in Medicine (grand-rounds style reviews of important topics in emergency medicine); State-Mandated CME Topics (needed for licensure in many states); Hospital Quality/Performance Issues;and Late-Breaking and Hot Topics. NCME is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education for physicians. All NCME programs are certified for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™ on an hour-for-hour basis. (Some individual programs are supported by educational grants from industry.) See http://resource.library.tmc.edu/resources/ncme.cfm for clarification on how to register at the NCME TV website.
- Keywords: education | medicine | physicians | point-of-care | video
- 88. NetLibrary E-Books Collection Basic Search Interface (TexShare)
- Provider: NetLibrary/OCLC -- TexShare
- Contents: bibliographic records , dictionary , e-books , full text , indexing , tables of contents
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Electronic book collection of more than 100,000 titles of trade, reference, science, technology and medicine content. Some content is free (out of copyright) and most is licensed by the State Library (TexShare) and restricted to Educational users.
- Keywords: books | e-books | multidisciplinary
- 89. Newspaper Source (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: citations , full text , indexing , news , newspapers , radio , transcripts
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides cover-to-cover full text for 20 national (US) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selected full text for more than 230 regional (US) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, Daily News (New York), San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, and other sources.
- Keywords: business | culture | current events | government | politics | public affairs | society
- 90. North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
- Provider: Alexander Street Press
- Contents: archive , biographical , full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Personal narratives, including autobiographies and pamphlets, from 342 authors, providing insight on what it meant to be an immigrant to the U.S.A. and Canada during the period from 1840 to 1950.
- Keywords: anthropology | culture | history of North America | homework | humanities | social sciences | society | sociology
- 91. North American Women's Letters and Diaries
- Provider: Alexander Street Press
- Contents: biographical , full text , research tools
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Diaries, journals and letters written by women residents and visitors to North America between 1700 and 1950; to include the personal experiences of 1,500 women from all walks of life and classes in society.
- Keywords: American history | history of North America | homework | humanities | society | sociology | women
- 92. Nursing & Allied Health Source (ProQuest)
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , dissertation , full text , indexing
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: This mostly full text database provides scholarly articles, dissertations, reports and evidence-based resources (notably from the Joanna Briggs Institute) supporting the study of nursing and the allied health professions, including physical therapy, radiography, dietetics, dental hygiene and the clinical laboratory sciences. Features "Study Paths" (collections of resources particularly relevant for either RN or LPN students); evidence summaries; MMWR reports on public health issues; and practice guidelines.
- Keywords: allied health | care | diet | evidence-based | health insurance | journal | medical imaging | multidisciplinary | nursing | nutrition | systematic reviews
- 93. Nursing Reference Center
- Provider: EBSCO
- Contents: CME , e-books , full text , links to full text , news , patient education , reference
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: A comprehensive, point-of-care resource for nursing, Nursing Reference Center draws search results in part from Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses; AHFS Drug Information Essentials; Diseases and Disorders: A Nursing Therapeutics Manual; Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary; and Davis's Comprehensive Handbook of Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications. Nursing Reference Center includes: "quick lessons" on diseases and disorders; evidence-based care sheets; practice guidelines; patient education sheets, some available in Spanish; CE modules; news; research instruments; and information on legal cases. Nursing Reference Center provides direct access to full text articles found in CINAHL. First-time users are encouraged to "take the tour" on the database's home page (FlashPlayer required) to learn more.
- Keywords: clinical practice guidelines | drugs | evidence-based | journal | legal | monographs | nursing | point-of-care
- 94. OMMBID (Online Metabolic & Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease)
- Provider: McGraw-Hill
- Contents: charts and graphs , e-books , full text , illustrations , images , textbooks
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Scriver’s OMMBID,updated several times a year, provides online access to the leading genetic information from renowned international experts. The site now features a researchers' blog, podcasts, the ability to limit searches to images and tables, creation of personal storage and bookmarking.
- Keywords: drugs | genetics | medicine
- 95. PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , bibliographies , full text , indexing , links , proceedings , websites
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. Includes access to the PAIS Archive.
- Keywords: foreign policy | internet | journal | multicultural | multidisciplinary | peer review | policy | politics | public affairs | social sciences
- 96. Periodicals Archive Online
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , archive , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains full text of more than 500 journals, providing access to nearly 2 million articles and affording the user historical access to some of the most respected journals published in the humanities and social sciences.
- Keywords: culture | history | homework | humanities | journal | literature | multidisciplinary | reviews | social sciences
- 97. Primary Search (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: citations , full text , images
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Indexes nearly 70 popular elementary school magazines, with all full text articles (about a third of the material indexed) being assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 100 magazines. Full text is also available for over 100 student pamphlets. Examples of publications include: Boys’ Life, Cricket, Highlights for Children, Hopscotch, Jack & Jill, Ladybug, Ranger Rick, Science World, Spider, SuperScience, and Time for Kids. This database also provides the American Heritage Children’s Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and an image collection of 202,164 photos, maps and flags.
- Keywords: culture | K-12 | kids | multidisciplinary | search
- 98. Professional Development Collection (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , career and jobs , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Designed for professional educators, this database provides a specialized collection of nearly 550 education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals. Titles offered include: Booklist, Curriculum Administrator, Education, Education Digest, Educational Leadership, Journal of Education, Journal of Educational Research, Journal of Learning Disabilities, and School Library Journal.
- Keywords: education
- 99. PsycARTICLES (EbscoHost)
- Provider: EBSCO
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA’s Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber, including all the material (with the exception of ads and editorial board lists) from 55 top psychology publications. Covers a range of subjects such as general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research areas within psychology. Titles include: Behavioral Neuroscience, Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Psychology of Addictive Behaviors, Psychological Bulletin, and Journal of Personality & Social Psychology.
- Keywords: journal | neurology | psychology
- 100. PsychiatryOnline
- Provider: American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc.
- Contents: CME , full text , handbook , news , textbooks
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides full text resources including DSM-IV-TR, DSM-IV-TR Casebook and its Treatment Companion, and the American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines for the Treatment of Psychiatric Disorders; journals including The American Journal of Psychiatry and Psychiatric Services; textbooks including Textbook of Clinical Psychiatry; self-assessment tools for study, board certification and recertification review, and lifelong learning; and clinical & research news from Psychiatric News.
- Keywords: neurology | psychiatry | psychoanalysis
- 101. Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides full text, abstracts and indexing to approximately 575 publications, about 550 of which are peer-reviewed journals. Topics covered: emotional and behavioral characteristics; psychiatry & psychology; mental processes; anthropology; and observational and experimental methods.
- Keywords: anthropology | behavioral sciences | neurology | psychiatry | psychology
- 102. PsycINFO (OVID)
- Provider: OVID
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: Provides citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences, covering material of relevance to psychologists, students, and professionals in related fields: psychiatry, management, business, and education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Journal coverage includes material selected from approximately 2,000 periodicals. Chapter and book coverage includes English-language material published from 1987 to the present. For a brief guide to searching any Ovid database, access the full list of available databases by clicking "Change Databases," and click the "i" (information) logo next to its title.
- Keywords: behavioral sciences | psychology
- 103. RefWorks
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: bibliographic management , interactive , reference
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management tool that enables users to organize and create a personal database online, format bibliographies and manuscripts, and import references from a variety of databases using the already-created Import Filters. Users can establish links to RSS feeds and import data from those feeds directly. RefWorks automatically creates author, descriptor and periodical indexes when importing data. It can be used across multiple platforms, including Windows, Mac, and Unix. Individual sign-up is required. See RefWorks under "Online Tutorials" on the Library's home page for instructions on getting started as well as more advanced information. Tutorials are presented in video and print-only format.
- Keywords: publishing | research | student
- 104. Regional Business News (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Full text of 75 business journals, newspapers and news wires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
- Keywords: business | management | marketing
- 105. Religion and Philosophy Collection (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Covers the predominant world religions, biblical studies, archaeology, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, ethics, history of philosophy. Contains more than 300 full text journals, among them more than 250 peer-reviewed titles. Indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the database.
- Keywords: ethics | philosophy
- 106. Salud en Espanol (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , encyclopedia , full text , indexing , monographs , news , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides an interface designed for the consumer of Spanish-language health care information, with convenient access to the same health and medical information found in the Consumer Health Complete database.
- Keywords: consumer health | drugs | herbs | journal
- 107. Science and Technology Collection (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Contains over 800 full text, mostly scholarly journals focusing on fields such as aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences and materials science. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications.
- Keywords: biology | chemistry | geoscience | physics | science | technology
- 108. Science Citation Index (via Web of Science)
- Provider: Thomson
- Contents: abstracts , citations , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: A multidisciplinary index to the scientific journal literature; indexes 5,900 journals across 150 scientific disciplines and includes all cited references captured from indexed articles. Provides access to current and retrospective data from 1900 to the present. Contains searchable, full-length English-language author abstracts for approximately 70% of the articles indexed, as well as links to full text. Covers the physical, earth and life sciences.
- Keywords: biology | medicine | multidisciplinary | science
- 109. ScienceDirect
- Provider: Elsevier
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Search gateway to the Elsevier online journals and book series; titles accessible to HAM-TMC Library users are flanked by a green icon.
- Keywords: e-books | journal | multidisciplinary | peer review | science
- 110. Scopus
- Provider: Elsevier
- Contents: abstracts , charts and graphs , citations , full text , government documents , indexing , links to full text , proceedings , research tools , websites
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: SCOPUS contains millions of records from 15,000 publications in the health sciences (including 100% of the journals contained in Medline and EmBase), as well as chemistry, physics, mathematics, engineering, biology, agriculture, environmental sciences and the humanities. Link to full text articles from journals in the HAM-TMC Library's collection by clicking the HAM-TMC Library Find It! button. SCOPUS covers the proceedings of 750 conferences, and retrieves a separate set of relevant Web resources with every literature search. Another tab separates a set of patent results from U.S., U.K. and worldwide patent offices. SCOPUS includes a Journal Analyzer tool that graphs journals, singly or for comparison, from 1996 to present, showing total citations, number of articles published, total citations divided by number of articles, and the percentage of uncited articles. A search by affiliation is provided. Free login for authorized users provides additional advantages: a personal profile, with space to save lists of citations and track authors; a publication alerts service; and direct export to RefWorks, each with the user's own settings. For tutorials on searching and SCOPUS features, click here.
- Keywords: biology | biomedical research | chemistry | conference | internet | journal | life sciences | medicine | multidisciplinary | nursing | patents | pharmacology | science
- 111. Scribner Writers Series (TexShare)
- Provider: Thomson Gale -- TexShare
- Contents: biographical , full text , indexing , literary criticism
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides 15-20 page signed essays on more than 1,600 authors and literary genres, from ancient to modern; includes in-depth search tool and a research ideas section.
- Keywords: biography | literature
- 112. Searchasaurus (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: encyclopedia , full text , illustrations , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Graphical search interface for EBSCO's general student resources, including Encyclopedia of Animals, Middle Search Plus, and Primary Search
- Keywords: K-12 | kids | multidisciplinary | student
- 113. Serials Directory (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: bibliographic records , directory , newspapers
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides bibliographic information and current pricing structures for popular serials; lists over 184,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers; data from nearly 83,500 publishers worldwide, including e-mail and Internet addresses. Historical data is provided for an additional 20,000 titles; and Library of Congress and Dewey Decimal Classification numbers are listed for each entry.
- Keywords: journal | libraries | magazines | periodicals
- 114. Social Sciences Citation Index (Via Web of Science)
- Provider: Thomson
- Contents: abstracts , indexing , links to full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences; fully indexes more than 1,700 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines, and indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Disciplines covered include anthropology, linguistics, psychology, psychiatry, public health, social work, sociology, and substance abuse.
- Keywords: anthropology | criminal justice | journal | linguistics | multidisciplinary | psychiatry | psychology | public health | social sciences | social work | sociology
- 115. Social Services Abstracts
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , dissertation , indexing , links to full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Indexes 1,300+ serials publications; includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and includes citations of book reviews. Major areas of coverage include: community and mental health services, gerontology, social and health policy, and support groups/networks.
- Keywords: journal | mental health | periodicals | policy | social sciences | social work | women | workforce
- 116. Sociological Abstracts
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences; provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, along with abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Search tutorials are located at: http://www.csa.com/tutorials/.
- Keywords: behavioral sciences | books | conference | journal | periodicals | reviews | social sciences | sociology
- 117. Spanish Language Interface to EBSCO Databases (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: citations , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides Spanish language interface for searching databases provided by EBSCO, including Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, Regional Business News and Medline.
- Keywords: business | general reference | multidisciplinary | Spanish
- 118. STAT!Ref (TexShare)
- Provider: Teton Data Systems
- Contents: e-books , full text , handbook , reference , tables of contents , textbooks
- Access Levels: Clinical Partners via their portal page , Educational
- Descriptions: Cross-searchable healthcare reference that integrates core electronic book titles with evidence-based resources and innovative tools. Includes numerous titles selected for the Doody’s Core Titles List (DCT), as well as many titles from the Brandon-Hill medical librarians’ list. Titles include the latest editions of ACS Surgery: Principles and Practice, Goodman and Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, and Hurst's The Heart.
- Keywords: books | communicable diseases | evidence-based | genetics | ICD-9 | infectious disease | internal medicine | medical coding | medicine | nursing | office practice | pediatrics | physicians | surgery
- 119. Student Research Center Interface (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , illustrations , images , indexing , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: EBSCO's Student Research Center (SRC) makes it easy for students to search by keyword or by topic to find the most useful search results. Results can be easily sorted by source type: magazines, reference books, photos, flags, etc.
- Keywords: K-12 | kids | magazines | multidisciplinary
- 120. Tests in Print
- Provider: EBSCO
- Contents: brief records , index , indexing , research tools , test questions
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
- Keywords: mental health | psychology | reviews | sociology | tests
- 121. Texas Digital Sanborn Maps (TexShare)
- Provider: ProQuest -- TexShare
- Contents: maps , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Covering 1867 - 1970, Sanborn maps are large-scale plans of a city or town, drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. They were created to assist fire insurance companies as they assessed the risk associated with insuring individual properties. The maps list street blocks and building numbers, including both numbers in use at the time of mapping and numbers designated previously.
- Keywords: American history | Texas
- 122. Texas Reference Center (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: biographical , full text , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Includes more than 80 full-text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic and cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden, sports & leisure. Contains biographies of famous historical and contemporary Texans like George H.W. Bush, Lady Bird Johnson, Dan Moody, Susanna Dickinson and Sam Houston. Newspapers providing Texas and national news coverage are also included.
- Keywords: books | history | homework | journal | kids | student | Texas
- 123. TOPICsearch (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing , monographs , news , newspapers
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Current events database focusing on social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms; contains full text from diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO’s collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information. This database provides full text from more than 1,550 publications. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 1,650 journals.
- Keywords: biography | current events | economics | homework | journal | politics | reviews | science | society | student | technology | U.S. Government
- 124. TOXLINE (CSA)
- Provider: ProQuest
- Contents: abstracts , citations , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in toxicology. Note: this version of TOXLINE has no information from Chemical Abstracts Service, BIOSIS, or International Pharmaceutical Abstracts; it is a "rolling 5-year" database, consisting of records from the last 5 years plus the current year.
- Keywords: biohazard | environmental | NLM | toxicology
- 125. Twayne's Author Series (TexShare)
- Provider: Gale
- Contents: abstracts , biographical , full text , indexing , literary criticism , reference
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Comprises 600 full-text titles from the Literary Masters series, 200 each from Twayne's World Authors, Twayne's US Authors and Twayne's English Authors.
- Keywords: biography | books | homework | literature | multicultural | student
- 126. Twentieth (20th) Century Poetry (American & English) - TexShare
- Provider: ProQuest -- TexShare
- Contents: full text
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: American Section: includes 50,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes of works by more than 300 poets, including Adrienne Rich, Andrei Codrescu, Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, Denise Levertov, Wallace Stevens, Langston Hughes, Lucille Clifton and Cathy Song. The English Section is a collection of 598 volumes of poems written by 283 poets, dating from 1900 to the present day: W.B. Yeats, Rudyard Kipling, Thomas Hardy, Wilfred Owen, Thom Gunn, Fleur Adcock, Paul Muldoon, Tony Harrison, Benjamin Zephaniah and Carol Ann Duffy and many more; incorporates also poets represented in The Faber Poetry Library.
- Keywords: books | homework | humanities | poetry | student
- 127. Vocational and Career Collection (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: career and jobs , full text , trade publication
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: This collection provides full text coverage for nearly 350 diverse trade and industry periodicals, including American Machinist, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Video Business, Reeves Journal, Hotel and Motel Management, Restaurant Business, and Advertising Age.
- Keywords: business | workforce
- 128. Web of Science
- Provider: Thomson
- Contents: citations , impact factors , index , links to full text , research tools
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: This is the portal to two citation databases, Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. (We no longer subscribe to Arts & Humanities Citation Index.) Journal Citation Reports also resides here in ISI Web of Knowledge. Some free resources for researchers are also included: ISI Highly Cited, a database identifying (via citation data) the top researchers currently publishing; ResearcherID, an index to author information; the RSS-capable, customizable Knowledge Link Newsletter; and more. To register free for a training session, click here.
- Keywords: biomedical research | life sciences | multidisciplinary | science | scientist
- 129. Wiley Interscience Journals
- Provider: Wiley InterScience
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Levels: Clinical Partner , Educational
- Descriptions: This is the browse and search interface for Wiley Interscience journals.
- Keywords: biology | biomedical | journal | medicine | science
- 130. World History Collection (TexShare)
- Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare
- Contents: abstracts , full text , indexing
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Provides a global look at history in content from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East. Contains full text for nearly 150 fully indexed and abstracted titles, including many peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of historical topics including anthropology, art, culture, economics, government, heritage, the military, politics, regional issues, and more.
- Keywords: anthropology | art | culture | economics | government | history | politics
- 131. WorldCat (TexShare)
- Provider: OCLC -- TexShare
- Contents: bibliographic records , index
- Access Level: Educational
- Descriptions: Catalog of books, journals, audiovisual materials, websites, internet resources, newspapers and maps held by libraries worldwide, including records for items held by HAM-TMC Library.
- Keywords: books | journal | open access | video








